Maryland DWI and Traffic Attorneys
The Rodriguez-Nanney law firm in Annapolis assists clients by preventing the accumulation of traffic violation points that can lead to such consequences as increases in premium, insurance termination, the suspension, or loss or suspension of driver’s license. Depending on the violation, payment of a fine is not enough to protect a driver from losing their license or incurring insurance costs is the violation carries points.
The Rodriguez-Nanney firm has successfully represented Maryland clients with traffic infractions including:
- Driving with a revoked or suspended license
- Fraudulent use of a license
- Driving without insurance
- Negligent or reckless driving
- Leaving the scene of an accident (hit-and-run)
- MVA fraud
- Obtaining driver’s licenses for immigrants
- Drinking and driving
Drinking and driving arrests are most commonly known as DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while impaired). You can be prosecuted for DUI in Maryland either because you were allegedly:
- Substantially impaired as a result of consumption of alcohol OR
- By violating Maryland’s per se law. You are in violation of Maryland’s per se law if you are operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of .08% or more.
Even if your blood alcohol level is .07% or less, you can be still be charged with a DUI/DWI.
The consequences of being charged and convicted of a DUI in Maryland include:
- A minimum driver’s license suspension of 45 days.
- The punishment increases as you rack up charges:
- First DUI Offense: up to $1,000 in fines and one year in jail.
- Second DUI Offense: up to $2,000 in fines and two years in jail.
- An Annapolis DUI conviction will result in 12 points on your Maryland Driver’s License record.
Maryland DWI Consequences
Please note that even though the Maryland DWI (driving while impaired) offense is a less serious charge, the consequences remain harsh, including:
• A minimum driver’s license suspension of 45 days,
• 8 points on your Maryland Driver’s License record,
• First DWI Offense: up to $500 in fines and two months in jail
• Second DWI Offense: up to $500 in fines and one year in jail
Other Important DUI / DWI Facts
Please note that even though you have the right to refuse to take a breathalyzer test, doing so may result in a 120-day driver’s license suspension. Further, the refusal may be admissible in court against those accused of violating Maryland DUI or DWI laws. Accordingly, if you do refuse to take the breathalyzer test, you must request an MVA hearing within 10 days after your arrest. You will have the opportunity through the attorney representing you to confront the arresting officer and make your case. Click here for more information on how to avoid a DUI/DWI.
Our Service Areas
The Rodriquez-Nanney Law Firm, has our primary offices in Annapolis. However we serve residents throughout Maryland including:
• Severna Park
• Anne Arundel County
We have attorneys who are fluent in Spanish and English. Often, clients who do not speak English as their first language may feel overwhelmed or confused by the legal system. Our attorneys will make sure that you understand the law in your own language, ensuring that you are aware of your rights and options as you make these important decisions.